The small boy watched as loving hands wrapped two biscuits in wax paper. He refused to eat Aunt Minnie's biscuits the next day, sensing that they represented a part of his life that was over. He continued to protect them as the family crossed Texas in a covered wagon. Eighty years later, the boy's son led a single wagon across Texas, carrying those same biscuits. This is the story of how two cousins, two mules, two horses, two trips across Texas, and those two biscuits brought together five generations of a family.

Read an excerpt.

From John Graves, legendary Texas author of Goodbye to a River :

In his Biscuits Across the Brazos, Jim Ainsworth has set down his recollections of a most pleasant adventure in a way that will preserve it for everyone who took part and their people present and future.  That is no small accomplishment.

From Ernestine Sewell-Linck, in Review of Texas Books

Biscuits Across the Brazos is more than a memoir.  It is adventure and falls within the popular genre of “road” books, in the tradition of Charles Kuralt, Jack Kerouac, and William Bertram.  Biscuits is a feel-good book.  Folklorists may glean much from its pages.  Further, it speaks to family values and experience that leads a man to know himself.  Entertaining—and more.

 

Email25 Facebook25 Twitter25 Linked-in25 Google+25 Blogger-sq25
Home
About Jim
Ordering Books
Follow Jim
What Readers Say
Watch and Listen
Public Speaking
Calendar
Contact